Programming apps is 99% UI work

We take pride to deliver a beautiful iOS apps, because that what’s apps are about, right? We don’t use websites, we want the native feel. That’s what I’ve been doing for last 4 years.

Since iOS 4 a lot have changed. More screens, more devices, more frameworks. Most people would say: “that’s cool! variety is great, we don’t need to care about specifics, because we have this frameworks”. But it saddens me.

I’m not a graphic designer, and I’m not an UI evangelist. I’m a programmer (or wanna be computer scientist), and yet what I do is making labels, tables, images stay at the right place at the right time. Of course, sometimes, more often at the beggining of the project you have the privilege of designing the architecture, modelling the data etc, but after that it’s just UI, a lot of UI.

For a long time I’ve been thinking about change, and what else could I do. I love building infrastructure, it was fun to build my own ad-hoc distribution system (based on git commit tree). I like to think about compilers, build processes, testing, distribution, but somehow the Apple’s closed infrastructure pushes me away from it.

From the last WWDC we could learn a really interesting concept of App Thinning – I dig this idea. Keeping bitcode on App Store servers may sound evilish but, damn it’s a very good move. I wish I could build something like this one day.

There’s not that much expected from iOS developers in terms of CS knowledge, and I guess teenagers are starting to prove that point lately.

I’m going away from mobile programming for now, let’s see what else I can do.

take care,
tetek

Leave a Reply

